James Lloyd
3 min readMay 20, 2023

Why do I write? I must admit I have written many things down over meny years, some are just letters I have written to my wife when I was away, she kept them and they explained what I was going through and how things were, but then I started writing little stories about children and how they could learn from everyday experience from growing up, I guess I took my own life experience as an example because I remember someone telling me one time if you want to write, then write about things you know about, and remember, the ones that reads it don’t know you or what you are writing about, so you must make the person that is reading what you wrote understand, and see, and feel the way you do. And that is the way I feel about my writing except for another very important thing, and that means the most of all. Like I said I have written many things down about what I feel about my writing most of it is on paper, in fact just about all my writing is on paper. You see I am now 72 years old I did not have computer in school so when I began my adult life everything was written down on paper with a pin or pencil. I got married and started a family a loving wife for more than 55 years, 3 wonderful sons, and my baby daughter which is all grown now. 9 grandchildren and three great-grandchildren on the way but all this time and in between times when I could I would write at that time I didn’t think of it much didn’t know why really I just like to write about everything and anything some of my writing involved helping others instructions telling them how to do things because of my past experience I would tell others in my writing how to do it and then other things that I wrote were more personal like my life the things that I did what I went through what I saw and heard. I have always loved helping others and I found a great enjoyment in writing children’s stories that peaches a young child’s mind about life and how to act and treat others as well as entertain. Then I started getting bad responses from the family because my writing was taking up too much of my time. So it started me to thinking, why do I like to write? Now I know, the words don’t give me a hard time, my words love me, and I love them, I get lost in my writing like I am in another world, there is no one telling me what to do, no one fussing and fighting, the world is in another place and here I am writing about something I care about very much. Weather it’s writing an article, a short story, or my own Life experiences. It could even just be answering someone’s question that I have read and hoping that I can help them. What it all boils down to is this I get lost in my words the world and problems go away and it feels so good that is why I write. And it puts a smile on my face.

James Lloyd

Recognized writer of children's stories for Children's Literature Institute; "short story & article writing" 'blogger personal experience subjects.